User Hacks

LEC 2021 Spring Split: The biggest storylines to watch

By January 22, 2021 No Comments

Brand new rosters. The same award-winning comfort.

 
The LEC 2021 Spring Split is shaping up to be one of the most anticipated seasons in the league in recent memory. Now that the intense competition of Worlds 2020 is behind them, the LEC and its teams are gearing up for a new competitive calendar in 2021.

With major roster changes across top teams like G2 and Fnatic, and the infusion of fresh talent, the power dynamic in the League of Legends European Championship may be in for a shake-up.

The old kings versus the new

The departure of Luka “Perkz” Perković from G2 to Cloud9 gives rise to one of the biggest questions of the split —  how will the 8-time LEC champions and the Kings of Europe perform without their star bot-laner?

Images courtesy of G2 Esports

Having said that, G2 does not want for talent and Perkz’s shoes will be filled by another European legend. Martin “Rekkles” Larsson is leaving longtime home Fnatic for G2, a roster change that is one of the most significant in European League of Legends history. Rekkles brings with him a wealth of experience and skill, and he’s also regarded as one of the best players in the world. Rekkles is more used to playing against G2 than with them — although he has previously played with Rasmus “Caps” Winther when they were both on Fnatic —  and it will be interesting to see how successfully he synergizes with the rest of the team.

Images courtesy of Riot Games.

The G2-Fnatic rivalry has been one of the most dominant narratives in the LEC, as the old kings of Europe constantly battle to unseat the reigning champions. With G2 eyeing their seventh consecutive LEC championship in the 2021 Spring Split, you can be sure that Fnatic will be challenging them for it. While the organization will feel the loss of Rekkles, they are bringing on former Astralis bot-laner Elias “Upset” Lipp, an up and coming young talent in the LEC, and Yasin “Nisqy” Dinçer, who won the LCS 2020 Spring Split with Cloud9 and played an integral role in their record-breaking 13-1 tournament run.

Dark horses

Elsewhere, organizations like Rogue and MAD Lions are fielding revamped rosters that could give the giants of the LEC a run for their money. Keep an eye out for rookies like Adrian “Trymbi” Trybus, Rogue’s hungry new bot-laner, and Javier “Elyoya” Prades, MAD Lions’ jungler and a player many have cited as one to watch.

The LEC 2021 Spring Split is looking more competitive than ever, with many revitalized rosters looking to go up against defending champions G2. Mark your calendars — the first match between G2 Esports and MAD Lions will kick off Friday, January 22 at 11AM CT/ 9AM PT.

Keeping Europe’s best in top form

Images courtesy of Riot Games.

All 10 teams of the LEC have their eyes set squarely on regional dominance and the 2021 World Championship, and they’ll settle for nothing less than world-class backup.

We’re once again supporting the LEC in 2021 with the Secretlab LEC Edition seats, specially designed for Europe’s top League of Legends players. Outfitted with all the features of the award-winning Secretlab 2020 Series, the Secretlab LEC Edition draws on our years of experience in performance ergonomics. Featuring supportive patent-pending cold-cure foam and a wide range of adjustments, Europe’s best will have no trouble getting into the zone and staying there.

Where to watch the LEC 2021 Spring Split

Images courtesy of Riot Games.

You can watch all LEC 2021 Spring Split games at watch.lolesports.com and the LEC’s Twitch channel. Tuning into the official LOL Esports page will net you Hextech Chests and Keys as well, part of Riot Games’ new Drops feature.

Here’s the schedule for the first week of games:

Friday, Jan 22

  • 11AM CT/9AM PT – G2 Esports vs. MAD Lions
  • 12PM CT/10AM PT – Astralis vs. SK Gaming
  • 1PM CT/11AM PT – Rogue vs. Excel Esports
  • 2PM CT/12PM PT – Team Vitality vs. FC Schalke 04
  • 3PM CT/1PM PT – Misfits vs. Fnatic

Saturday, Jan. 23

  • 10AM CT/8AM PT – FC Schalke 04 vs. Excel Esports
  • 11AM CT/9AM PT – Team Vitality vs. Misfits
  • 12AM CT/10AM PT – MAD Lions vs. Astralis
  • 1PM CT/11AM PT – G2 Esports vs. SK Gaming
  • 2PM CT/12PM PT – Fnatic vs. Rogue

Sunday, Jan. 24

  • 10AM CT/8AM PT – Astralis vs. Team Vitality
  • 11AM CT/9AM PT – Rogue vs. SK Gaming
  • 12PM CT/10AM PT – Misfits vs. MAD Lions
  • 1PM CT/11AM PT – Fnatic vs. FC Schalke 04
  • 2PM CT/12PM PT – Excel Esports vs. G2 Esports

For the full schedule during the rest of the split, please refer to the official LOL Esports page.

Secretlab is proud to be the choice of gaming seats for the 2021 LEC.